Nottingham Forest Fan Blog for Evangelos Marinakis

Play Video
Play Video

Nottingham Forest Football Club is a professional football club, based in West Bridgford in Nottinghamshire, England. Nottingham Forest F.C is owned by Evangelos Marinakis. The club’s current manager is Aitor Karanka, who in August 2018 wanted a home win for Nottingham Forest against West Brom, who they drew with at Bristol City. Karanka in an August 2018 interview said that Nottingham Forest has a “very talented squad.”

Nottingham Forest plays in the English Football League Championship (EFL or it’s often called the Championship) which is the highest division of the English Football League; it’s the second highest tier after the Premier League. Nottingham Forest has a Youth Academy, Junior Reds, and a Supporters’ Club. At the time of writing, Nottingham Forest F.C. is currently 16th in the Championship. Goalkeeper Luke Steele has signed to Nottingham Forest, in August 2018, he’s come from Bristol City. Nottingham Forest also has an under 23s team, an under 18 league, and a ladies’ league.

Clough and Taylor

One of the most well-known managers of Nottingham Forest from the past was Brian Clough who worked closely with his assistant Peter Taylor. Taylor was the club’s talent spotter.

Signings and Transfers

Martin O’Neill was a player who played during Forest’s golden era, and he played before and during Brian Clough’s time in the 70s and helped Forest to win the league title and the League Cup. He later went on to manage the Republic of Ireland national team.

Peter Shilton was one of the most well-known goalkeeper’s that Nottingham Forest signed at the time for a record fee of £325,000, because of his reputation to win matches. In 1979 the club’s first £1 million transfer signing was Trevor Francis who came from Birmingham City.

One of the next key signings for Nottingham Forest was that of Teddy Sheringham in 1991 who joined the club, from Millwall, he was a scorer, who was signed for £2.1 million. 

In the 1990s with Frank Clark as manager, he signed footballing greats Stan Collymore, Lars Bohinen and Colin Cooper, and this helped Forest to qualify for the UEFA Cup. Forest reached the quarterfinals of the 95-96 UEFA Cup.

Success in FA Cup Finals

Nottingham Forest won their first FA Cup Final in 1898 and another FA Cup Final in 1959, a game which was fraught with Forest injuries, including a broken leg!

In the 70s and 80s, Brian Clough and Peter Taylor made Nottingham Forest very well-known indeed, and really increased the teams’ potential. In 1979 Taylor signed Trevor Francis from Birmingham City.

In 1991 Nottingham Forest reached the FA Cup Final again but was sadly beaten 2-1 by Tottenham Hotspur at Wembley.

Success in the European Cup

Forest beat Malmo 1-0 in Munich, in the 1979 European Cup Final. In 1980 they beat Hamburg 1-0 in the European Cup Final at Madrid.

Different Managers of Nottingham Forest FC

Ron Atkinson became the manager of Nottingham Forest in 1999, he was followed by David Platt who had been a former England captain; in his time as manager, he spent £12 million on players, including three players from Italy. At this time in Nottingham Forest’s history, it had quite a lot of debt and financial difficulty.  Paul Hart took over managing the team; he was sacked in 2004 because Forest was in danger of relegation. Since then Forest has been managed by Joe Kinnear, Mick Harford, Gary Megson, Frank Barlow, Ian McParland and Colin Calderwood.

Colin Calderwood was the 12th manager of Forest since Brian Clough had retired 13 years earlier. Calderwood built the club back up and this means Nottingham Forest were promoted. In Calderwood’s time, Forest won six out of seven last games of the season. Forest became just one promotion away from the Premier League. In 2009 however, Calderwood was sacked when Forest was defeated on Boxing Day to Doncaster Rovers.

Since Colin Calderwood Forest was temporarily managed by John Pemberton, then Billy Davies managed Forest until 2011.

Forest did very well in 2009-2010, where they had an unbeaten run of 20 league games; they won 12 home league games in a row and also had memorable home victories over Derby County and Leicester City; in the semi-final, they were beaten by Blackpool 2-1.

Steve McClaren managed Forest for a short while before resigning and was replaced by Steve Cotterill. 

New Ownership (2012 – 2017) and More Managers

In February 2012 Nigel Doughty who was the owner and chairman of Nottingham Forest club since the late 1990s died. He had contributed more than £100 million to the club.  The Al-Hasawi family from Kuwait took over ownership of the club, and they appointed Sean O’Driscoll as manager. Sean O’Driscoll was sacked after the Boxing Day 2012 match because they wanted to appoint a manager with Premiership experience. O’Driscoll was replaced by Alex McLeish who only stayed in position for 40 days. Billy Davies the club’s manager 20 months previously was re-appointed. He was sacked after a 5-0 defeat at Derby County. Stuart Pearce replied Billy Davies, before being sacked in 2015 and replaced by Dougie Freedman who was sacked after a 3-0 defeat at home to Sheffield Wednesday. Other managers after Freedman included Paul Williams (temporary); Philippe Montanier (sacked after 7 months) and Mark Warburton

Evangelos Marinakis – Nottingham Forest’s Owner

On 18th May 2017, Evangelos Marinakis took over as the owner of Nottingham Forest.

Kit, Sponsor, Logo and Nicknames

The club’s crest was originally the city arms of Nottingham. The 2 stars above the club’s badge are to commemorate the European Cup Victories in 1979 and 1980. The new Forest logo and design was created by graphic design lecturer David Lewis. The kit is currently manufactured by Macron; in the past, it has been mostly from Adidas and Umbro. The current shirt sponsor is BetBright. The club has gone by nicknames of Foresters, Garibaldis, The Forest, Forest, the Reds, Notts Forest and Tricky Trees.


Nottingham Forest’s stadium has been at the City Ground in West Bridgford since 1898, it is close to the banks of the River Trent. In 1994 the stadium was made into an all-seater stadium so that it could be a venue for Euro 96. The seating capacity is 30,445. The City Ground is very close to Notts County’s Meadow Lane stadium.

Who are Nottingham Forest’s Rivals?

Its fiercest rival is Derby County, who is 14 miles away from Nottingham. There is also Leicester City and Sheffield United.


Over the years Nottingham Forest has won an abundance of different records and achievements, listed here are truly just some of the key highlights as a selection, but there are many many more.

The most goals that were scored was in 1950-51 when 110 goals were scored in one season.

The longest sequence of unbeaten league matches was 42, and this was from November 1977 to November 1978.

The quickest goal to be scored, was 14 seconds into a match in 2000. The match was with Norwich City and was scored by Jack Lester.  The next quickest goal was 23 seconds into a match and this was by Paul Smith, with Forest playing against Leicester City in 2007.

The most internationally capped player, was Peter Shilton, 125 for England.

The youngest player was Craig Westcarr who was only 16 years old and played against Burnley in October 2001. Their oldest league player was Des Walker, who was 38 and played against Wigan Athletic in 2004.

The largest transfer fee paid was £13,2000,000 for Joao Carvalho, it was paid to Benfica.